The state of Texas is another popular state in the cosmetology field, it has more than 5,000 estheticians licensed by the state, and it is estimated that this number will increase by 49%, resulting more than 7,600+ estheticians by the year of 2022. It is not easy to start practicing Skin Care services in Texas, you need to be a licensed esthetician by the TDLR (Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation), which we are going to talk about, its requirement, fees, applications and all of the other details you need know before you start any kind of training.
Esthetician, Skin Care License Requirement in Texas
In order to be eligible for Texas Skin care license, you must
- Be at least 17 years old
- Have received a high school diploma or the equivalent.
- Complete all of the training hours required by the state (750 Commission-approved training program)
- Pass the written exam before you can sit for the
- Ppass the practical exam which is 1 ½ hour long
Dual license is a mix of two licenses, an esthetician and a manicurist. When you decide going for this option, you may either first complete an esthetics program for skin care which is 750 training hours and then a manicurist program of at least 600 approved training hours, resulting of a total of 1,350 training hour. Or you may complete a blended program (which is better option) that consists of 1,200 total hours. The blended program must be approved by the Commission.
After completing all required hours of the approved training, you can register to take the exam through the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation. Usually they verify that you have completed all hours of training before they allow you to take your any exams, written or practical.
Applications can be processed by:
- Filling the Online Cosmetology Esthetician Application
- By printing this application and sending it by fax, email or mail it to the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation, including the application fee
- Telephone (800) 803-9202
- Fax (512) 475‑2874
- Email firstname.lastname@example.org
You would be asked to appear for an interview after receiving you application
Maintaining Your Skin Care License in Texas
- You have up to 18 months to renew your license, the renewal date is based on the date you received your initial license.
- To qualify for renewal, you are required to complete three to four hours of continuing education in topics related to the practice of esthetics.
- After three years of a license being expired, you are no longer eligible for renewal. Unfortunately you should start the application from the beginning if you want to practice any kind of skin care seervices in the state of Texas
- Initial application fee $50, reduced from $53
- Current Renewal fee: $53
- The written exam fee is $55
- The practical exam fee is $78.